University of Sydney Handbooks - 2020 Archive

Download full 2020 archivePage archived at: Tue, 27 Oct 2020

Doctor of Philosophy

The Faculty of Medicine and Health was created in 2018 to enable innovation, excellence and strategic vision in teaching, research and clinical practice not only in medicine and health, but in all of the areas in which we operate. The Faculty is organised through a School based structure composed of the following Schools:

  • Sydney Dental School
  • Sydney School of Health Sciences
  • Sydney Nursing School
  • Sydney Pharmacy School
  • Sydney School of Public Health
  • Sydney Medical School, inclusive of:

Children’s Hospital Westmead Clinical School, Westmead Clinical School, Central Clinical School, Concord Clinical School, Northern Clinical School and Sydney Adventist Hospital Clinical School, Rural Clinical School (Dubbo/Orange), Nepean Clinical School, Rural Clinical School (Broken Hill), Rural Clinical School (Northern Rivers).

The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) is different from all the other degrees offered by the University as it is the only degree offered at the University level. The same regulations govern a PhD student regardless of faculty or field of study.

The Rules governing the degree of Doctor of Philosophy are the University of Sydney (Higher Degree by Research) Rule 2011) and the Thesis and Examination of Higher Degree by Research Policy 2015. The most recent versions of these rules can be found on the Policy Register

The Higher Degree by Research Rule must be read in conjunction with applicable University By-laws, Rules and policies including (but not limited to), the University of Sydney (Student Appeals against Academic Decisions) Rule 2006 (as amended) and the Academic Honesty in Coursework Policy 2015.

These rules are found in the Policy Register at

Course information and application details can be found at:

Doctor of Philosophy