University of Sydney Handbooks - 2020 Archive

Download full 2020 archivePage archived at: Tue, 27 Oct 2020

Law (Combined degree)

Note: These units of study are ONLY available to students enrolled in the combined Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Laws (first three years).

The University of Sydney Law School Undergraduate Table

All students enrolled in this combined Law degree must complete their Law units of study in a yearly sequence for the first three years as outlined in the table below.

Unit of study Credit points A: Assumed knowledge P: Prerequisites C: Corequisites N: Prohibition Session


Year 1

Foundations of Law
6    N LAWS1000 or LAWS5000
Semester 1
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1005 or LAWS1010 or LAWS3001 or LAWS5001
Semester 2
Legal Research
   N LAWS1013 or LAWS1019
Semester 1a
Semester 2a

Year 2

Civil and Criminal Procedure
6    P LAWS1006 and LAWS1012
N LAWS5003 or LAWS2006
Semester 1
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1002 or LAWS2008 or LAWS5002
Semester 1
Criminal Law
6    P LAWS1006 and LAWS1014
N LAWS1003 or LAWS2009 or LAWS5004
Semester 2

Year 3

Torts and Contracts II
6    P (LAWS1010 or LAWS1012) and LAWS1015
N LAWS5006
Semester 2
Public Law
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1004 or LAWS2002 or LAWS3003 or LAWS5007

Note: Department permission required for enrolment in the following sessions:Intensive January

Intensive January
Semester 2
Public International Law
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1018 or LAWS2005 or LAWS5005
Semester 1

Details on years four and five of the Bachelor of Laws (once the Bachelor of Commerce component is completed), please refer to the Sydney Law School handbook.