University of Sydney Handbooks - 2016 Archive

Download full 2016 archive Page archived at: Fri, 13 May 2016 14:40:30 +1000

Professional Accounting courses - Accreditation

Professional accounting accreditation - Master's degree

(1) CPA Australia and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CAANZ)

Completion of the core units for the Master of Professional Accounting satisfies the requirements of both Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CAANZ) and CPA Australia for accreditation under the direct program pathway. The foundation core knowledge areas that are required by the two main professional accounting bodies in Australia are as follows:

Core Knowledge Area Required Unit of Study
Accounting information systems INFS5000 Accounting Information Systems
Accounting systems and processes ACCT5001 Accounting Principles
Accounting theory ACCT6001 Intermediate Financial Reporting
Audit and assurance ACCT6007 Contemporary Issues in Auditing
Commercial law CLAW5001 Legal Environment of Business
Corporations law CLAW6002 Corporate Structures in Practice
Economics BUSS5001 Firms, Markets and Business Management
Finance FINC5001 Capital Markets and Corporate Finance
Financial accounting ACCT6010 Advanced Financial Reporting
Management accounting ACCT5002 Management Accounting and Decision Making
Quantitative methods QBUS5002 Quantitative Methods for Accounting
Taxation CLAW6026 Taxation Law and Practice

As accredited units are subject to review by the professional accounting bodies, students should check the CAANZ and CPA Australia websites for units accredited in the year they commenced their course. If required, the CPA/CAANZ Accreditation Liaison Officer in the Discipline of Accounting can provide further advice on professional accounting accreditation.

(2) Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)

The ACCA will allow four foundation unit exam exemptions for students who have completed the Master of Professional Accounting. In addition, students who complete certain accredited units of study may be eligible for up to five further specific exam exemptions. Further information on the ACCA exam exemptions can be found on the ACCA's website.