University of Sydney Handbooks - 2017 Archive

Download full 2017 archive Page archived at: Mon, 28 Aug 2017 11:21:56 +1000

Soil Science

Soil Science is an interdisciplinary major. Units of study in this major are available at standard level.

Program structure and content

The Soil Science units of study aim primarily at giving students an introduction to the three major branches of soil science, namely soil physics, soil chemistry, and pedology, and at providing the basis for a professional career in each of these divisions for students wishing to specialise. The introductory unit of study is particularly relevant for students interested in the environmental and geological sciences and in land-use management.

First year planning a major in Soil Science

Essential: 6 credit points of Junior Geoscience units.

Recommended: 6 credit points of GEOS1001/1901 or GEOS1002/1902.

Contact/further information

Professor Alex McBratney

Phone: +61 2 86271130