University of Sydney Handbooks - 2019 Archive

Download full 2019 archive Page archived at: Tue, 05 Nov 2019 02:36:07 +0000

Master of Information Technology

Course overview

The Master of Information Technology (MIT) is an internationally recognised degree offering six majors within the four key areas of software, business, engineering and health.

Students can choose to focus on one particular area or there is the flexibility to combine subjects from related majors.

Whilst the completion of a major is an optional requirement of the MIT, the following majors are available:

  • Biomedical and Health Informatics
  • Data Management and Analytics
  • Digital Media Technology
  • IT Security
  • Networks and Distributed Systems
  • Software Engineering

For more information on units of study and degree program requirements visit CUSP (


The MIT is recognised as an industry-relevant award and has been accredited by the Australian Computer Society as a Professional Level course.