University of Sydney Handbooks - 2020 Archive

Download full 2020 archivePage archived at: Tue, 27 Oct 2020

University of Sydney Law School Undergraduate Table

Unit outlines will be available though Find a unit outline two weeks before the first day of teaching for 1000-level and 5000-level units, or one week before the first day of teaching for all other units.

Unit of study Credit points A: Assumed knowledge P: Prerequisites C: Corequisites N: Prohibition Session

Bachelor of Laws

To qualify for the award of the Bachelor of Laws, a student must successfully complete:
(i) 102 credit points of compulsory units of study; and
(ii) 42 credit points of elective units of study, of which a maximum of 36 credit points are taken from Part 1 - Elective Units of Study table; and
(iii) a minimum of 6 credit points are taken from Part 2 - Elective Units of Study table.

Compulsory units of study

Year 1
Foundations of Law
6    N LAWS1000 or LAWS5000
Semester 1
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1005 or LAWS1010 or LAWS3001 or LAWS5001
Semester 2
Legal Research
   N LAWS1013 or LAWS1019
Semester 1a
Semester 2a
Year 2
Civil and Criminal Procedure
6    P LAWS1006 and LAWS1012
N LAWS5003 or LAWS2006
Semester 1
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1002 or LAWS2008 or LAWS5002
Semester 1
Criminal Law
6    P LAWS1006 and LAWS1014
N LAWS1003 or LAWS2009 or LAWS5004
Semester 2
Year 3
Torts and Contracts II
6    P (LAWS1010 or LAWS1012) and LAWS1015
N LAWS5006
Semester 2
Legal Research II
   P LAWS1013
N LAWS1008 or LAWS1022 or LAWS1024

Only students who previously completed LAWS1013 should enrol in this unit.
Semester 1
Semester 2
Public Law
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1004 or LAWS2002 or LAWS3003 or LAWS5007

Note: Department permission required for enrolment in the following sessions:Intensive January

Intensive January
Semester 2
Public International Law
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS1018 or LAWS2005 or LAWS5005
Semester 1
Years 4 and 5
Students in the Bachelor of Engineering Honours/Law do not undertake any law units in Year 4 and enrol in the Bachelor of Laws in Year 5, after completion of their first degree.
For all other Combined Law streams, students enrol in the Bachelor of Laws in Year 4, after completion of their first degree.
Students may substitute one compulsory unit with one elective unit in each semester of their penultimate year, deferring the compulsory unit(s) to final year. Students cannot enrol in more than two elective units in their penultimate year.
Administrative Law
6    P LAWS1021
C LAWS2011
N LAWS2002 or LAWS5010
Semester 1
Federal Constitutional Law
6    P LAWS1021
N LAWS1004 or LAWS3000 or LAWS3003 or LAWS5011
Semester 1
Intro to Property and Commercial Law
6    P LAWS1006
N LAWS2004 or LAWS2007 or LAWS5008
Semester 1
The Legal Profession
6    N LAWS1001 or LAWS3002 or LAWS3004 or LAWS5009
Semester 1
Corporations Law
6    N LAWS2003 or LAWS5014

Students who enrol in the evening stream should consult and be guided by the unit description for LAWS5014 as the evening stream will follow precisely the course outline and structure, including assessment regime, of that unit. The present description applies only to students enrolled in the daytime stream of LAWS2014.
Semester 2
6    A LAWS2012
N LAWS2004 or LAWS5015
Semester 2
6    P LAWS1006 and LAWS1014
N LAWS2006 or LAWS5013
Semester 2
Real Property
6    P LAWS2012
N LAWS2007 or LAWS5012
Semester 2
Years 5 and 6
Private International Law A
6    N LAWS2005 or LAWS1018 or LAWS5017
Semester 1
Semester 2